Norway, officially the Kingdom of Norway (Norwegian: Kongeriket Norge (bokmål); Kongeriket Noreg (nynorsk)), is a Nordic country.
It occupies the western portion of the Scandinavian Peninsula in Europe. Norway is bordered by Sweden, Finland, and Russia.
Norway has a very elongated shape; the country’s extensive coastline along the North Atlantic Ocean is home to its famous fjords.


Vest Adger




Sogn og Fordane

More og Romsdal
Sor-Trondelag Nord-Trondelag

The Kingdom of Norway also includes the Arctic island territories of Svalbard and Jan Mayen. Norwegian sovereignty of Svalbard is based upon the Svalbard Treaty, but this does not apply to Jan Mayen. Bouvet Island in the South Atlantic Ocean and a claim for Peter I Island in the South Pacific Ocean are also external dependencies, but these are not part of the Kingdom. Norway also claims Queen Maud Land in Antarctica where it has established the Troll permanent research station.
Norway has ranked top among all countries in human development every year from 2001 to 2016. The country is also rated the most peaceful country in the world.